Home > Home Solar Info > Lines Co's Fees & Export Limits

NZ Lines Company Solar Application Fees & Export Limits 2026

Written by Kristy Hoare, Founder & Solar Market Research Specialist
Last updated:

Most NZ lines companies charge $100-$310 to approve your home’s solar connection, with an average of around $140. Nine NZ lines companies don’t charge a cent. Since 11 May 2026, the default limit for exporting solar power to the grid is 10kW. Your lines company can only set a lower limit at addresses with network constraints. Most publish a list or map of these, while some, like EA Networks and Horizon, check each application instead.

How Much Do Lines Companies Charge for Solar?

All lines companies require consent. If you are going to be exporting solar power to their power lines, then they need to know!  Most solar installation companies take care of this process for you, but here are the details if you'd like to know.

The lines company checks that your solar system and inverter meet its technical requirements.

Your lines company also sets how much power you can send back to the grid. Since 11 May 2026, the default export limit is 10kW. They can only set a lower limit at addresses with network constraints. Most publish a list or map of these, while some check each application instead.

Below you can find the solar application fees and application forms for each lines company in New Zealand. Observation and testing fees only apply where they are required.

How to read the fees below

For most standard residential solar systems, the lower application fee shown in the table will apply.

If you see two application fees, the cheaper fee is generally for a standard solar system using an inverter already approved by the lines company. The higher fee may apply if the inverter meets the required standards but is not on the lines company's pre-approved list.

It is uncommon for lines companies to require additional testing or observation of your system, so I wouldn’t factor these fees into your solar budget.

Quick Cost Summary

Cheapest
9 lines companies (FREE)
Average application fee
$140
Most expensive
Horizon Networks ($310)
Average testing fee
$65

Last updated: 27 October 2026

Which Lines Company Am I With?

Your lines company owns the poles and wires in your area, and it's not the same as your power retailer. It's usually named on your power bill. If not, use the search box in the table below.

Residential Application Fees and Export Charges - 10kW or less

new zealand lines company network showing area of service

What Is the Solar Export Limit in NZ?

The default solar export limit in New Zealand is 10kW for standard household systems, under the Electricity Authority's Code change that took effect on 11 May 2026.

Electricity lines companies place limits on how much power a solar system can export back to the grid at any one time.

These limits exist because local networks can only handle so much power. If too much solar is exported at once, voltage can rise and equipment such as transformers and cables can become overloaded, potentially causing shutdowns or local outages.

Export limits help lines companies keep the network operating safely and reliably.

For standard residential solar connections in New Zealand, the default export limit is now 10kW. A lower limit can only apply where your lines company has assessed your address as constrained.

What does a 10kW export limit mean for a typical 8kW solar system?

Basically, nothing.

An 8kW solar system can only generate around 8kW at peak output, so it can't export 10kW. In reality, some of the solar electricity will usually be used within the home as it is generated, meaning the amount exported will be even lower.

So for a typical 8kW home system, a 10kW export limit places no practical restriction on the system.

What about solar systems larger than 10kW?

This is where export limits become more relevant, but an important distinction is that a 10kW export limit does not necessarily mean your solar system is limited to generating 10kW.

For example, imagine you have a 12kW solar system generating 12kW. If your home is using 3kW at the time, only 9kW is being exported to the grid, so you are still comfortably within a 10kW export limit.

If the home was using very little electricity and the system wanted to export more than 10kW, the inverter or export-control equipment would restrict the amount being sent back to the grid.

Even with a 12kW system, the overall amount of solar generation lost because of a 10kW export limit may be relatively small. Solar systems don't sit at their maximum output all day, and whenever your home is using some of that solar electricity itself, less power needs to be exported.

It's also worth remembering that electricity you use directly in your home is generally much more valuable than electricity you export. Most power companies pay 8c to 17c per kWh for exported solar (excluding GST), while power from the grid costs roughly 33c per kWh (excluding daily charges). Compare solar buy-back rates, or see what solar costs on our solar cost page.

For most households, maximising self-consumption is therefore more important than maximising how much solar electricity can be exported to the grid.

Export Limits Vary by Lines Company

Export limits and connection requirements can vary between electricity distributors and even between different parts of the same network.

From 11 May 2026, 10kW is the mandatory default export limit for standard household solar and battery systems. Lines companies can offer dynamic or flexible limits instead, as long as you can still export at least 10kW when the network isn’t constrained. They can only set a lower limit at specific addresses after a network assessment, and they must publish a list or map of those addresses. If your address isn’t listed, the 10kW default applies.

If you're considering a larger residential solar system, your installer should check the available export capacity with your local lines company as part of the system design and connection application. 

View all lines companies export limits in the table below.

Solar export limits by lines company (October 2026)

The short version: if your address isn't on your lines company's lower-limit list, you're entitled to the 10kW default.

Default residential export limits and published lower-limit areas for NZ lines companies
Lines company Default export limit Lower-limit areas Notes
Alpine Energy 10kW View list Mostly river hut settlements, plus parts of Geraldine, Peel Forest and the Hadlow feeder.
Aurora Energy 10kW None published
Buller Electricity 10kW No congested areas
Centralines 10kW None published
Counties Energy 10kW View areas Constrained areas include parts of Awhitu Peninsula and Pukekawa. Lower limit value not stated.
Electra Website says 5kW None published Their connection document still lists 5kW for single-phase homes.
Electricity Ashburton (EA Networks) 10kW No list published. High-level congestion map EA Networks confirmed the 10kW default by email (Oct 2026). Each application is checked, and you'll be told if a lower limit applies. Congestion is mainly caused by large solar farms.
Electricity Invercargill 10kW View map Managed by PowerNet. Existing 5kW customers can apply to increase.
Firstlight Network 10kW None published Now owned by Powerco (July 2026) and moving to the Powerco name.
Horizon Networks Assessed per property None published Previously 5kW. Horizon told us (Oct 2026) their engineers assess each application to set the maximum export for that connection. They didn't confirm a standard 10kW default.
Lakeland Network 10kW View map Managed by PowerNet.
MainPower NZ 10kW View list 168 ICPs listed, mostly rural lines at 2kW.
Marlborough Lines 10kW View list Constrained areas get 5kW, or 2kW on single-wire rural lines.
Nelson Electricity Not stated View document Separate network, run under contract by Network Tasman. Website doesn't state a default limit. Congestion document appears to predate the new rules.
Network Tasman 10kW View list Detailed list by substation. Talk to your installer before quoting in a listed area.
Network Waitaki 10kW No congested areas Network Waitaki confirmed the 10kW default by email (Oct 2026). Their connection page says no areas are expected to be congested in the next 12 months.
Northpower 10kW None published Policy refers to a list of congested locations, but we couldn't find one.
Orion NZ 10kW None published Up to 10kW per phase where network studies allow. Dynamic limits planned.
OtagoNet 10kW View map Managed by PowerNet.
Powerco 10kW View list Nine transformers listed. Customers approved before Nov 2025 need to request a review to get 10kW.
Scanpower 10kW None published 10kW "subject to any location specific constraints".
The Lines Company 10kW None published 10kW per phase. Exports may be dialled back during congestion.
The Power Company 10kW View map Managed by PowerNet.
Top Energy 10kW None published Existing customers need to apply, then have their installer reset the inverter.
Unison Networks 10kW None published
Vector 10kW dynamic No congested areas Needs a compatible inverter and internet. Drops to 2.5kW if the inverter loses connection.
Waipā Networks 10kW No congested areas
WEL Networks 10kW Check your address No list, but their Export Check tool estimates the limit for your ICP.
Wellington Electricity 10kW flexible View map You may be asked to drop to 5kW when the network is congested, or pay a congestion charge.
Westpower 10kW None published

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Only in specific cases. Since 11 May 2026, 10kW is the default for standard household solar. A lines company can set a lower limit at your address only if a network assessment shows the local network is constrained, and it must publish a list or map of those addresses. Check the table above to see your lines company’s list.

No. About 9 of the 30+ lines companies across New Zealand charge no application fee for residential solar systems under 10kW. These include Aurora Energy, Buller Electricity, Counties Energy, Electra, MainPower, Nelson Electricity, Powerco, ScanPower, and Vector.

However, most other distributors do charge fees, typically ranging from $80 to $350 depending on your location and system details.

The cheapest option is free - 9 lines companies charge no application fee at all.

If you're in an area with paid fees, the lowest charged is $80 (inclusive of GST) by Electricity Ashburton. After that, the next lowest are around $100 – $115 from companies like Northpower, PowerNet (which manages Electricity Invercargill) and WEL Networks.

The most expensive is Network Waitaki at $160–$350 depending on the application pathway.

Part 1A (simplified pathway) is faster and often cheaper. It applies to systems up to 10kW that use a pre-approved inverter compliant with AS/NZS 4777. Applications are approved within 10 business days, and terms apply automatically on approval.

Part 1 (standard pathway) applies if your inverter is compliant but not on the network's pre-approved list. Applications can take up to 30 business days, and you have a 30-day negotiation period to agree on connection contract terms after approval.

Most residential solar systems qualify for the faster Part 1A pathway. If you see two application fees in the table, the cheaper one is typically for Part 1A, and the more expensive is Part 1.

Inspection and testing fees cover the cost of a qualified inspector visiting your site to verify that your solar system has been installed correctly and meets the network's technical and safety requirements.

Some distributors include this as part of their application process (so the fee is mandatory), while others only charge if an inspection is actually needed. In my experience, most residential solar installations don't trigger formal inspections - they're rare unless a specific compliance concern is flagged. A few distributors don't charge inspection fees at all.

Testing fees typically range from $60 to $140 depending on your location and the complexity of your installation.

It depends on which pathway your application takes:

Part 1A (pre-approved inverter): Up to 10 business days for approval decision.

Part 1 (standard application): Up to 30 business days for approval decision, plus an additional 30-day negotiation period for connection contract terms.

In practice, many applications are approved within a few days, especially for Part 1A. Your solar installer can help guide you through the process and answer questions specific to your network's timelines.